National Record Breakers, AOY's Collecting Sol Awards At BVIAA Gala

Sol country manager deborah Benjamin with the 2011 Athletes of The Year; PHOTO: Todd Van Sickle

DECEMBER 9—As has now become a tradition since the 2009 season, the BVI Athletics Association’s partner Sol will dole out Athletes of the Year Awards in Youth, Jr. and Sr. Divisions as well as awards to athletes breaking National Records, during the association’s 4th Athletes Awards Gala.  

The forthcoming event is scheduled for 7 p.m. on Friday, Dec 28 at the Moorings. Donation is $50 single and $85 per couple.

Highlighting the evening’s program will be the naming of the 2012 Sol Athletes of the Year in the Youth Junior and Senior divisions. For the third successive year, there will be no Sr. Male collecting an award, as this division lacks quality performers.

The tightest competition for the Sol awards however, is in the Youth and Jr. Athletes of the Year Divisions. Particularly in the Jr. female division, there are a record four athletes vying for the covet award.

Sol will also dole out awards to athletes who have established a National Record that stand at season’s end. Records began tumbling with the 800m and Shot Put on February 11 and ended with the Shot Put on June 29 in San Salvador, El Salvador.

In all, there were 16 records established—the highest total since Sol began doling out awards—including 13 individual marks during the season. Including the Jr. Boys 4x100m, the Jr. Boys and Youth Girls 4x400m, there will be 25 stepping to the podium for these particular awards. 

Other awards will be presented from Under 11 to Open Divisions in track event, field events, cross country and road racing disciplines.

Previous Sol Athletes of the Year 2009-2011 were:


Sr. Female—Chantel Malone

Jr. Female—Shenique Frett

Jr. Male—Tarique Moses

Youth Female—Nelda Huggins/Tarika Moses

Youth Male—Kedrick Matthew


Sr. Female—Tahesia Harrigan

Jr. Female—Chantel Malone

Jr. Male –Tarique Moses

Youth Male—Chaz Fahie

Youth Female—Taylor Hill


Sr. Male—Omar Jones

Sr. Female—Tahesia Harrigan

Jr. Male—Norville Carey

Jr. Female—Chantel Malone

Youth Male—Brandon Andrew

Youth Female—Nelda Huggins