Malone Cops 2011 Sol Athlete of The Year Award


With three National Indoor Records under her belt and four NCAA All America Honors to her credit in her senior year, Chantel Malone was crowned the 2011 Sol BVI Sr. Female Athlete of The Year, during the BVI Athletics Association’s 3rd annual Athletes Awards Recognition Gala, held at Drakes Point at Fort Burt, on December 28.

L-R: Nelda Huggins' Father, Kedrick Matthew, Tarique Moses, Sol Country Manager Deborah Benjamin, Tarika Moses

and Chantel Malone

Malone, who was the 2009 and 2010 Sol BVI Jr. Athlete of the Year, completed her eligibility at the University of Texas. During the season she broke Ashley Kelly’s 400m National Indoor Record, after running 53.23 seconds, then improved on her Long Jump standard with a leap of 6.65m (21’10”) and extended her own Triple Jump mark to 13.45m (44’1½”).


There was no Sr. Male award presented for the second successive year.


Shenique Frett, who qualified for the IAAF World Youth Championships in the 100, 200 and 400m, copped the Most Outstanding Under 20 Girls award, was the Sol BVI Jr. Female Athlete of the Year.


Tarique Moses—who also bagged Most Outstanding Under 17 Boys Track Athlete honors—repeated as the Sol Jr. Male Athlete of the Year. During the season, he broke Steve Augustine’s 17-year old National Youth and Scholastic 800m record after running 1 minute 59.03 seconds.

Carifta Games Under 17 Girls 100m bronze medalist Nelda Huggins and 400m Carifta Games fourth placer and Leeward Islands 200m champion Tarika Moses, shared the Sol BVI Youth Female Athlete of the Year award.

In the closest race of all the awards presented on the night, Kedrick Matthew collected the Sol BVI Youth Male Athlete of the Year Award, getting the nod over Kyron McMaster. Matthew was a CAC Age Group Championships silver medalist and won three medals at the Leeward Islands Youth Championships including 800m gold. McMaster was also a CAC Age Group Championships silver medalist, and won three medals at the Leeward Islands Youth Championships-but two of this medals, were bronze.

Rose Phillips King Adams and Theda Bucknor Forbes, received the BVI Athletics Foundation Lifetime Achievement Awards for their respective services to the association in the early days. Adams was the territory’s leading athlete of the 1970s and also served as association secretary through 2002.

Forbes who coached, was an administrator, was a member of the first Carifta Games team in that included Adams, in 1976.

Coaches who have served for a minimum of five years, were also recognized for their services by the BVI Athletics Foundation. Awards were also doled out in two new categories. Deshawn Douglas won the Colonial Insurance Comeback Male Athlete of the Year, while Sprint Tech Coach Willis “Chucky” Todman picked up the inaugural BVI Athletics Association Coach of the Year Award.

Lenford Levy, Director of the IAAF Regional Development Center in San Juan, Puerto Rico, was the guest speaker.

BVI Athletics Association 2011 award recipients are as follows:


Sol BVI 2011Athletes of the Year

Senior Female—Chantel Malone

Jr. Female-Shenique Frett

Jr. Male—Tarique Moses

Youth Female—Nelda Huggins/Tarika Moses

Youth Male—Kedrick Matthew






Sol National Record Breakers


Chantel Malone, 400 Meters Indoor National Record, 53.23 seconds, February 11, 2011, Albuquerque


Chantel Malone, Long Jump Indoor National Record, 6.65m (21’10) January 28, 2011, Fayetteville


 Chantel Malone, Triple Jump National Indoor Record, 13.45m (44’1½”) March 12, 2011, College Station


 Karene King, 200 Meters Indoor National Record, 24.02 seconds, February 11, 2011


4 x 100 Meters RelayNational Jr. Record:  (Brandon Andrew, J’Maal Alexander, Royce David, Shaquoy Stephens, 42.92) March 25, 2011


Tarique Moses, 800 Meters National Youth Record, 1 Minute, 59.03 seconds, April 25, 2011, Montego Bay


Lakeisha Warner, 800 Meters National Youth Record, 2 minutes, 19.50 seconds, April 24, 2011, Montego Bay


J’Maal Alexander, 200 Meters, National Jr. Record, 21.69 seconds, Basseterre,


Kanishque Todman, Heptathlon National Record, 4046 points, July 22-23, 2011

Zebalon McLean, Half Marathon National Record, 1 hour 34 Minutes and 45 seconds, November 19, 2011

Lifetime Achievement Awards—

Theda Bucknor-Forbes | Rose Phillips King Adams


Most Outstanding Track & Field Performances

All Under 17 awards were sponsored by Premier Dental while the Jr. and Sr. awards, were sponsored by Colonial Insurance.


Most Outstanding Combined Events Female Athlete—Chantel Malone


Most Outstanding Combined Events Male Athlete—Keron Stoute


Most Outstanding Women’s Open Track Athlete—Ashley Kelly


Most Outstanding Men’s Open Field Athlete—Keron Stoute


Most Outstanding Women’s Open Field Athlete—Chantel Malone


Most Outstanding Boys Under-20 Track Athlete—J’Maal Alexander


Most Outstanding Girls Under-20 Track Athlete—Shenique Frett


Most Outstanding Boys Under-20 Field Athlete—Jevonte Croal


Most Outstanding Girls Under-20 Field Athlete—Kanishque Todman


Most Outstanding Boys Under-17 Track Athlete—Tarique Moses


Most Outstanding Girls Under-17 Track Athlete—Taylor Hill


Most Outstanding Boys Under-15 Track Athlete— Deshawn Douglas


Most Outstanding Girls Under-15 Track Athlete— Nelda Huggins/Tarika Moses


Most Outstanding Boys Under-15 Field Athlete—Kyron McMaster


Most Outstanding Girls Under-15 Field Athlete—Kala Penn


Most Outstanding Boys Under 13 Field Athlete— Kedrick Matthew


Most Outstanding Girls Under 13 Field Athlete—Arianna Hayde


Most Outstanding Boys Under-13 Track Athlete—Kedrick Matthew


Most Outstanding Girls Under-13 Track Athlete—Kiara Huggins


Most Outstanding Boys Under-11 Track Athlete—Chaz Fahie


Most Outstanding Girls Under-11 Track Athlete—Kiara Adams


Most Outstanding Boys Under 11 Field Athlete—Chaz Fahie


Most Outstanding Girls Under 11 Field Athlete—Zaniah Corea


Blenheim Trust Road Racing Awards


Road Race Series: Men:Zebalon McLean. Emrol Amsterdam and Adrian Dale Women: Meriel Steadman, Claire Louise Whiley and Kay Reddy


College Race Series Cross Country Awards


Open Men & Open Women—Khiry Creque and Meriel Steadman


Most improved Athletes


Men—Deshawn Douglas | Women—Lakeisha Warner


Colonial Insurance Comeback Athletes of the Year


Deshawn Douglas


Coach of the Year

Willis “Chucky” Todman