Another Victory For Stoby in Blenheim Trust 5k Tour

Reuben Stoby continues to rule the roads PHOTO: Dean "The Sportsman" Greenaway

APRIL 22--With early morning rains shrinking the numbers to just 35 participants, Saturday's Blenheim Trust 5K Series tour stop on Beef Island saw the men literally pursuing the women. The women had a five minutes start, giving the men a good reason to chase to see who could get to the line first.

Rosmond Johnson and Jenny McGivor played a waiting game at the front, with McGivor tucking in behind Johnson for the first two miles of the loop around Beef Island, showed her hand a little too early, and was chased down by Johnson who stretched it out at the end to take the win. Both ladies successfully beat the roaring tsunami of men storming up behind. They noted how great it was to lead the race and were delighted to cross the finish at the front.

Leading the men's pack was Reuben Stoby who bagged another victory--but missed catching the women--crossing the line in 18 minutes and 13 seconds.

"I guess it was the weather and a lot of athletes didn't turnout but I was expecting at least Tarique (Moses) to come too, so I was looking forward to a challenge there," Stoby said. "When I didn't see a lot of the regular athletes coming out, I went with the plan of just going out easy and I followed until maybe about 1000m or so and then I started to increase the pace. It was a nice run and 18:13 is not my best. I thought I was going to do faster nevertheless, but I'm happy with the win."

The next race on May 2, will see runners tackling the Paraquita Bay Beast at HLSCC.

Final Results. Men:1. Reuben Stoby, 18 minutes and 13 seconds. 2. Julius Farley, 18:48. 3. Derek Pettigrew, 19:48. 4. Paul Hubbard, 20:23. 5. Dan Mitchell, 21:18. 6. Shane Donovan, 22:11. 7. Adam Holdt, 22:13. 8. Reno Mittelholzer, 22:47. 9. David Pettigrew, 22:48. 10. Claudius Rhymer, 25:04. 11. Guyp Dubois, 27:00. 12. Marvin Flax, 29:05. 13. Howard Moore, 30:35. 14. Henry Creque, 31:46. 15. Rommel Sofia, 33:08.

Women: 1. Rosmond Johnson, 21:58. 2. Jenny McGivor, 22:10. 3. Kay Reddy, 23:57. 4. Anna Kinkead, 24:45. 5. Claudia Ferrari, 25:21. 6. Eva Askulv, 26:18. 7. Sarah Graham, 26:49. 8. Philomena Robertson, 27:04. 9.= Natasha Ruscheinski, 28:23. 9.= Candy Holdt, 28.23. 11. Clair Burke, 30:14. 12. Claire Santillan, 31:16. 13. Simpa Ganadillo, 32:06.

Power Walkers: Linda Li, Sophie Bennett, Charlene Odango, 45:00.Boys 1 Mile. 1. Sebbie Morgan, 8:46. 2. Xavier Morgan, 9:39.

Age Group: Under 15: 1. Derek Pettigrew: 30-39 1. Reuben Stoby 2. Julius Farley 3. Dan Mitchell 4. Shane Donovan 5. Adam Holdt 6. Reno Mittelholzer 7. Claudius Rhymer 8. Guyp Dubois 9. Marvin Flax 10. Rommel Sofia. 40-49: 1. Paul Hubbard 2. Henry Creque. 50-59: 1. David Pettigrew 2. Howard Moore

Women: 30-39: 1. Jenny McIvor 2. Claudia Ferrari 3. Philomena Robertson 4.= Natasha Ruscheinski and Candy Holdt 6. Clair Burke 7. Claire Santillan 8. Simpa Ganadillo. 40-49:1. Rosmond Johnson 2. Anna Kinkead 3. Sarah Graham. 50-59: 1. Kay Reddy 2. Eva Askulv